Texting and driving is dangerous and deadly for the driver, passengers, and other road users. Text messaging is prohibited for all drivers in North Dakota. Today and every day, remember: U Drive. U Text. U Pay.
Law enforcement agencies across North Dakota are increasing patrols during the U Drive. U Text. U Pay. enforcement campaign until April 30 in an effort to save lives by removing distracted drivers from the roads.
Text messaging is prohibited for all drivers, and drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any electronic communications devices, including cell phones. This law carries a $100 citation and went into effect August 1, 2011. For more detailed information, view the North Dakota Century Code 39-08-23 and 39-08-24.
In Fact, the texting while driving law was expanded to include distracted driving to mean any distraction that impairs the ability to safely operate the vehicle. If you’re distracted while driving and commit a traffic violation, you can be given a $100 citation for distracted driving. This new expanded part of the law went into effect August 1, 2017. For more detailed information, view the North Dakota Century Code 39-08-25.
Use these tips to avoid the distraction of your phone:
-Silence your phone and turn off the vibration mechanism. The less you hear your phone, the less tempted you’ll be to respond while driving.
-Designate a texter: Borrow thumbs from your passengers. Ask your passengers to handle tasks such as texting, placing a call or reprogramming your GPS.